Sex Crimes

sexcrimes

If you have been charged with a sex crime in Florida, it is very important to contact an experienced attorney in Jacksonville. Sexual offense convictions can result in serious penalties and consequences, such as requirements to register as a sex offender for life, a criminal record, hefty fines, lengthy prison sentences and/or public ridicule.

The prosecution has the very difficult burden of proving every element to your alleged sex offense beyond a reasonable doubt. This is a very high burden of proof to meet, and if the judge or jury has any doubt, you must be acquitted of the criminal charges you are facing.

Contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer if you have been charged with committing a sexual offense in Jacksonville today. Your attorney may be able to find mitigating factors or defenses to the allegations against you, such as lack of intent or false accusations.

JACKSONVILLE SEX CRIMES LAWYER

If you have been charged with any sex crime in Jacksonville, or any of the surrounding areas in Florida, including Jacksonville Beach, St. Augustine, Orange Park, or Fernandina Beach, contact Roelke Law, P.A. Bill Roelke is knowledgeable in all areas of Florida’s sex offense laws and will make every effort to help you avoid the most severe punishments and repercussions to your alleged offense. Call Roelke Law today for a free consultation at (904) 354-0333 about your sex crime charges.


Jacksonville Sex Offense Information Center

Back to top

Florida Sex Crime Laws

Some of the most commonly charged sexual offenses in Jacksonville include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Statutory Rape (Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor) – According to Fla. Stat. § 794.06, an individual can be charged with this offense if they are 24 years old or older and they penetrate the sexual organs, including oral, anal or vaginal penetration of another person, or engage in sexual activity, with another person who is 16 or 17 years old. A conviction for this offense can result in a felony of the second degree.
  • Sexual Battery or Rape – According to Fla. Stat. § 794.011, and individual can be charged with this offense if they penetrate the sexual organs of another person without their consent, including oral, anal and vaginal penetration. A conviction for this offense can result in a felony of the first degree, life felony or capital felony.
  • Lewd Conduct (Lewd and Lascivious Acts) – According to Fla. Stat. 800.02, an individual can be charged with this offense if they engage in crude and indecent behavior or commit sexually charged conduct. A conviction for this offense can result in a misdemeanor of the second degree.
  • Indecent Exposure (Exposure of Sexual Organs) – According to Fla. Stat. § 800.03, an individual can be charged with this offense if they are naked in public or expose their sexual organs in public. A conviction for this offense can result in a misdemeanor of the first degree.
  • Child Porn / Pornography (Sexual Performance by a Child) – According to Fla. Stat. § 827.071, an individual can be charged with this offense if they knowingly promote or use a minor child under the age of 18 in a sexual performance. A conviction for this offense can result in a felony of the second degree.

Back to top

Sex Crime Penalties in Jacksonville

As defined in sections 775.082, 775.083 and 775.084 of the Florida Statutes, the penalties for sexual offenses in Jacksonville are listed below. However, these penalties can increase depending on the age of the victim, whether the victim was disabled, whether a weapon was used during the commission of the offense, and whether the alleged offender had any previous criminal history.

An individual who has been convicted of a misdemeanor of the second degree sexual offense can receive a jail sentence up to 60 days and/or a fine not more than $500.

An individual who has been convicted of a misdemeanor of the first degree sexual offense can receive a jail sentence up to one year and/or a fine not more than $1,000.

An individual who has been convicted of a felony of the third degree sexual offense can receive a prison sentence up to five years and/or a fine not more than $5,000.

An individual who has been convicted of a felony of the second degree sexual offense can receive prison sentence up to 15 years and/or a fine not more than $10,000.

An individual who has been convicted of a felony of the first degree sexual offense can receive prison sentence up to 30 years and/or a fine not more than $10,000.

An individual who has been convicted of a life felony sexual offense can receive a prison sentence up to 30 years or life and/or a fine not more than $15,000.

An individual who has been convicted of a capital felony sexual offense can receive the death penalty.


Back to top

Florida Sexual Predators Act

According to Chapter 775 of the Florida Statutes, anyone who has been convicted of a sexual offense or is classified as a sexual predator in the Florida Sexual Predators Act is required to register with the sheriff’s office in their county. A sexual predator is someone who has been convicted of committing a felony sexual offense involving a minor.

The number of times a convicted sex offender is required to register depends on the offense they were convicted of. For example, an individual is required to register two times per year for the rest of their life if they have been convicted of any of the following offenses:

  • Indecent exposure,
  • Lewd conduct,
  • Child pornography, or
  • Statutory rape.

A conviction for any other sexual offenses, such as sexual battery and rape, requires the convicted offender to register with the sheriff’s department in their county four times per year for the rest of their life.


Back to top

Jacksonville Sex Crime Resources

Florida Statutes Online – Chapter 794 of the Florida Statutes defines the elements to many sexual offenses in Florida, such as sexual battery, rape and statutory rape. This chapter also provides the penalties and statutory defenses to sexual offenses.

The Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers – This national organization aims to prevent sexual abuse through education, learning and shared research, in addition to promoting effective treatment and management of offenders in the community.

FDLE Sexual Offender Reporting Requirements – This link is to sex offender reporting requirements in Florida. The Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) maintains a sexual offender and predator database in Florida, and makes this information available to law enforcement and the public. The Jacksonville Regional Operations Center can be contacted at:

Jacksonville FDLE
921 North Davis Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32209
Phone: (904) 360-7100

Back to top

Roelke Law, P.A. | Jacksonville Sex Offense Attorney

Contact Roelke Law today for a consultation about your alleged sexual offense throughout Duval County in Florida. Bill Roelke is an experienced Jacksonville defense attorney who will make every effort to fight the allegations against you and help you achieve the best possible outcome for your situation. Contact Roelke Law at (904) 354-0333 for a consultation about your alleged sex offense throughout Duval County and the surrounding counties in Florida, including St. Johns County, Nassau County and Clay County.

Free Consultation
Contact Us